Attala County

Attala County was officially established in 1833 with land acquired from the Choctaw session of 1830. The name was taken from an Indian heroine (Atala) in a novel written by Franois-Ren de Chateaubriand. It is located in central Mississippi and is surrounded by seven other counties (Carroll, Montgomery, Choctaw, Winston, Leake, Madison, and Holmes. As of the 2000 census, the population of Attala County was 19,661 people with the racial makeup being 58.34% White, 40.00% Black or African American, 1.42% Hispanic, .65% Asian, .17% Native American, and 1.22% other. Kosciusko is the county seat of Attala, and other major cities and towns include McCool, Sallis, and Ethel.


MSGenWeb Attala County, retrieved from
U.S. Census Bureau, retrieved fromĀ,US/PST045218