Carroll County

Carroll County was established by the state legislature in 1833 from lands ceded by the Choctaw Indians. The county was originally very large, so it has two county seats, Carrollton and Vaiden. Beginning in 1870, the state legislature used land from Carroll County in the creation of three new counties: Leflore, Montgomery, and Grenada. As a result of this process, Carroll County lost two of its most important cities, Greenwood and Winona, transportation facilities with access to the Yazoo River, and two-thirds of its most valuable agricultural land.

African-American citizens of Carroll County were given the right to vote in 1867 as part of Reconstruction. This change created a substantial majority of registered black voters in Carroll County. Census records show that the population of Carroll County was over fifty percent African-American from 1840 through 1930. The African-American population began to decline in 1910 as part of the Great Migration, but black citizens remained in the majority for several years because white citizens were also leaving the county in search of better economic opportunities. The majority continued to decline, however, and today, African-Americans make up only 36.6% of the Carroll County population.


Bingham Duncan, A History of Carroll County From 1871, 2 (Aug. 4, 1933) (unpublished M.A. thesis, University of Mississippi) (on file with J.D. Williams Library, University of Mississippi)., Carol County, Mississippi. (last visited April 15, 2007). Census 2000 Demographic Profile Highlights: Carroll County, Mississippi. (last visited April 15, 2007).