Montgomery County

Montgomery County is located in central Mississippi. It has five neighboring counties: Grenada County (north), Webster County (northeast), Choctaw County (east), Attala County (south), and Carroll County (west). Three cities within in Montgomery County are Duck Hill, Kilmichael, and Winona. On May 31, 1871, Montgomery County was established from Carroll and Choctaw counties. It was named after Richard Montgomery who was killed in the Revolutionary War at Quebec, Canada, while leading American troops against the British. Montgomery is located in part of the third and final Choctaw Cession. Its Indian heritage is shown in the name of the county seat, Winona, which could be translated to mean “the crane”or “first born daughter.” In Montgomery’s 2000 Consensus, the racial makeup of the county was 54.25% White, 44.95% Black or African American, 0.08% Native American, 0.25% Asian, 0.02% Pacific Islander, 0.07% from other races, and 0.37% from two or more races. 0.85% of the populations were Hispanic or Latino of any race.